MISSISSIPPI COURT ADMINISTRATORS ASSOCIATION MINUTES OF THE 2023 FALL CONFERENCE BUSINESS MEETING

OCTOBER 26, 2023

The Mississippi Court Administrators Association held its 2023 Fall Business meeting at the Golden Nugget in Biloxi, Mississippi. The meeting was called to order by the President Lynn Conner who opened the meeting for business with a quorum established.

The Secretary's Report - Candace Payne-Johnson: The minutes from the 2023 Spring Conference were distributed via email. A motion was made to accept the minutes as written and with a second, the motion was carried.

The Treasurer's Report - Kinsasha West: The Treasurer's Report was distributed via email. A motion was made to accept the report with a second, the motion was carried.

President Lynn Conner called for reports from Committees:

<u>The Membership Committee – D'Andrea Gilmore, 2nd Vice President:</u>

D'Andrea Gilmore asked that all new members to the association please stand and introduce themselves. The new members will be admitted into the association at the 2024 Spring Conference.

D'Andrea Gilmore recognized the Court Liaisons:

- 1. Noelle McKinnon for Chancery Court
- 2. Melanie Sanders for Circuit Court
- 3. Paula Cable for County Court
- 4. Paulette Jones Wallace for Youth Court

The Court Liaisons are part of the Associations Board of Directors. Their 2-year term of service will end Spring of 2025.

Reminder association dues are due no later than March 31st. If you have not yet paid, please see Kinshasa West.

D'Andrea Gilmore urged association members to get acquainted with their Court Liaison. Your Liaison is who you can go to with questions or for guidance.

D'Andrea Gilmore reminded members to submit news, and announcements for the associations' monthly motivations.

<u>The Continuing Education Committee – Brooke Pollard, 1st Vice President:</u>

Brooke Pollard, as Chair, the Executive Board and two at-large members serve on the Continuing Education Committee:

- 1. Donna Walker
- 2. Ashley Roberts At-large

The at-large committee members serve a term of 1 year. The term of service ends Spring of 2024.

Brooke Pollard encouraged members to send recommendations for speakers and topics for the Spring 2024 conference.

The Nominating Committee – Shanna Spann, Immediate Past President:

Shanna Spann asked for members serving on the Nominating Committee to stand. Committee Members are:

- 1. Tonya Anderson,
- 2. Stacie Shoemaker,
- 3. Valeri Underwood
- 4. Betsy Boone.

Members serve on this committee for a term of year. Their term of service will end the Spring of 2024.

Nomination forms for open Board and Committee positions are now posted on the webpage. Shanna asked that all forms be completed and submitted by the March 31st deadline to allow the Nomination Committee ample time to review the submissions.

Shanna thanked those members who are currently serving and urged others to be a change agent.

The Awards Committee: Joy Danzey, Chairperson

Joy Danzey recognized the committee members:

- 1. Cindy Bray
- 2. Molly Jackson
- 3. Mona Martin
- 4. Leigh Ann Atherton

The nomination forms for <u>The Justice Achievement Award</u>, <u>The Award of Excellence</u> and <u>The Robert D. Church Memorial Scholarship</u> are now posted on the association's webpage *at www.mscaa.org*.

Joy reminded members that the deadline for awards submissions is **January 31, 2024**. The Committee will submit recommendations for each Award to the Board no later than March 1, 2024.

The recipients will be announced and awards presented at the associations business luncheon at the 2024 Spring Conference.

The Chair and committee members serve a term for 1-year. The term of service will end Spring 2024.

The Fall 2024 Conference will be held in Philadelphia, MS.

No further old business and no new business was brought before the body.

A motion was made to adjourn the meeting, with a second presented and the meeting was adjourned.